DuPage County Suspended License Lawyers
Defense for Serious Traffic Offenses in Illinois
If you have had your license suspended or revoked for driving under the influence (DUI) or prior traffic violations, you are facing more than a minor traffic infraction. Drivers who are exercising actual physical control of a vehicle in Illinois can be convicted of a misdemeanor even for a first offense. The specific penalties associated with operating a motor vehicle after your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked will depend on the original violation that resulted in loss of your license.
Regardless of the reason for the initial license suspension/revocation, a misdemeanor conviction for driving on a suspended or revoked license will result in a criminal record. This criminal record can be discovered by future employers and landlords with a simple background check. There are also other long-term consequences of a conviction for driving with a revoked or suspended that include ineligibility for some state occupational licenses or professional licenses.
When you are facing the prospect of a longer license suspension, damage to your personal/professional reputation and even potential jail time, you need an experienced DuPage County suspended driver’s license lawyer. The attorneys at Ramsell & Associates, LLC have the extensive experience of representing thousands of clients over the last 20 years.
What Are the Penalties If I Drive When My Illinois Driver’s License Is Suspended or Revoked?
Although many people presume that driving with a suspended/revoked license is a petty traffic violation, it can have serious consequences that include a felony conviction or jail time depending on the circumstances. Most frequently, the offense will be charged as a Class A Misdemeanor, which can be punished by up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine. However, the penalties can be more severe depending on the circumstances. If your license was suspended for a DUI, for example, you can be exposed to a minimum of ten days in jail or 240 hours of community service.
A second conviction of driving on a revoked or suspended license can be charged as a Class 4 Felony, which can result in a sentence of 1 to 3 year in a state penitentiary an a fine up $25,000. Further, you will face a mandatory minimum of thirty days in jail or 300 hours of community service. Drivers also will face an aggravated charge subject to increased penalties if they fail to comply with a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) or lost their license because they caused a reckless homicide.
Contact a DuPage Serious Driving Offense Lawyer
Our DuPage County suspended driver’s license lawyers work diligently to obtain the best possible outcome for our clients which often involves challenging the officer’s justification for stopping your vehicle. We invite you to call us today at 630-256-8001 or to send us an email to schedule your free consultation in our conveniently located office in Naperville. Ramsell & Associates, LLC also has offices in Wheaton and in St. Charles or Rolling Meadows by appointment.